Sunday Prep

So, every Sunday I spend about 2 hours prepping my lunches, snacks, and dinners for the week. Every Monday I’ll post what I prepped on Sunday. I eat Paleo. Paleo is eating like a caveman (or cave-woman, in my case); if  you could hunt or gather it, you can eat it. That means lots of fresh veggies & fruit, meats & seafood, and fats (like nuts, coconut, and avocado). I stay away from processed foods, dairy, grains and beans. However, Anthony doesn’t eat this way, so sometimes I adapt, add, or make something different for him depending on what I’m having. This week I’ll be showing you a few different meals prepped, where I received my recipes, and make you hungry by showing you some delicious pictures! I always make a menu for the week which contains each meal and a snack.

 

Monday’s Breakfast: Paleo Pancakes- Found from Nom Nom Paleo, one of my favorite Paleo websites. Nom Nom Paleo Pancakes

Paleo pancakes

These pancakes are pretty simple, quick to make and re-heat pretty well, too! Usually I heat up my breakfast in the morning by putting my pancake, eggs, or whatever else I have into the toaster oven while I shower. That way it’s done when I’m out and I can sit down to and eat before getting ready.

Next I made Monday’s lunch: Turkey Roll-ups- This is a variation of a Nom Nom Paleo Idea! Roast Beef Roll-ups

Turkey Roll-ups

I normally cut up a bunch of peppers for the week. This makes it easy to throw on a salad, in a meal, or if I want a quick snack to munch on. I have a Foodsaver, which helps keep everything fresh for the week. I purchased it at Target and it was money well spent. I have used it for: pre cut-up sweet potatoes, peppers, carrots, and even marinated turkey tips which I froze afterwards!

For this lunch, I used 2 pieces of turkey because they were sliced thin and fell apart when I wrapped them. By using 2, it made it a little more secure. I also used Tessemae’s Honey Mustard Dipping sauce…WOWZA’s is that stuff good!!!! You can purchase it at Whole Foods or online at their website. Whole Foods does not carry all of their line, so I ordered the gift pack from their website. Bonus…it came with a few different dips, marinades, and sauces! Tessemaes Website

Tuesday’s Breakfast: Paleo “Oatmeal”- Paleo Oatmeal (This was found on Pinterest. I need to explore this website more, because the “oatmeal” is so good!)

Paleo oatmeal

Also another yummy, quick breakfast that heats up well in the toaster oven. I top it off with nuts and raisins and it’s ready to go. I usually have 2-3 slices of bacon as well to add protein…doesn’t Paleo sound yummy?!? Pancakes, bacon, honey mustard dipping sauce. What other food plan let’s you eat that?

Tuesday’s lunch: Chicken Salad, with a side salad, and nuts

SAMSUNG CSC

This stays in the fridge really well for a few days, so I make it on Sunday for Tuesday because I know it will still be good. It’s yummy, quick to make and I can put everything together while the rest of my meals are cooking. I always add a piece of fruit to my lunches too!

SAMSUNG CSC

I keep 3 salads prepped and ready to go for the week just in case something comes up one night and I can’t make my lunch or I want a salad with dinner. Sometimes it helps make the decision easier when it’s already made. I don’t add cucumbers to these because I have found that if I get to a salad on Thursday it’s usually soggy from the cucumbers. So I don’t mind taking a quick 5 minutes to chop them up fresh!

And I’m all done! Tuesday Night I prep some more food for the week and then I’m usually all set.

Although spending 2 hours seems like a lot of time, it is worth it for me to know what I’m eating each day, have it ready and I’m not spending money on prepared foods. One of my biggest pet peeves is buying a $10 salad that isn’t really that good. So this is time well spent…and it helps that I enjoy it too. See ya soon!!!

One thought on “Sunday Prep

Leave a Reply

