2 Meals in 1- Easy Skillet Lasagna & Zucchini Noodles with Meat Sauce

I try to cook dinner every night. I make a weekly menu for us, so it takes the “What do you want to have dinner? I don’t know what do you want for dinner?” factor out of planning. The decisions already made for us. When I make my menus, I try to make sure I have a good rotation between chicken, hamburger, pork chops, and other meats. However Anthony and I have a little bit of a different taste palate. I try to stay consistent with Paleo….he’s a meat and rice guy with a side of Italian! Sometimes I make 2 separate meals, but I always try to make them have a similar base.

Tonight, I made an Easy Skillet Lasagna for Anthony and a Meat sauce and Zucchini Noodles for myself. This is a pretty easy combo to make. Before I started Paleo, I had the Easy Skillet Lasagna recipe…Easy Skillet Lasagna

So I changed a few things to make this work for me:

  • I followed steps 1, 2, & 3 exactly. (Just sautéing the garlic, onion, and browning the hamburger)
  • Step 4- I added different tomatoes: one 15 ounce can tomato sauce and one 15 ounce  diced tomato with italian herbs. No chicken broth, and I cooked the ravioli’s in a separate pot…So I didn’t “contaminate” my part of the sauce.
  • Step 5, 6, & 7- I didn’t add any cheese. Anthony adds his own, once he makes his dish. If you eat dairy, you can add the cheese as it gets really “melty” and kind of makes a thicker sauce. I let it boil while I cooked the ravioli’s. About 20 minutes.

While everything is cooking, I made my zucchini pasta. This is so easy to make since I bought my new tool: The Veggetti!  All I did was cut the ends off of the zucchini, then spun it into this little contraption and OUT COMES ZUCCHINI PASTA!!! It takes less than 2 minutes to spin it out. Then, I sautée it for 6 minutes in olive oil, put a little meat sauce over it, and my “pasta” is ready.

The even better part of this meal?!? Anthony takes the rest of the ravioli’s for lunch tomorrow!

Next,  a little Thirsty Thursday to end a short week! Take care…

Leave a Reply

