Sunday Food Day

Breakfast: Quick Frittata

I love making Frittata. It’s super easy and it stays good in the fridge for a pretty good amount of time. Up to 6 days if you store it in a nice airtight container! This was a bacon, potato, & pepper frittata.

I make bacon in the oven. Yes, in the oven. It’s so quick, it doesn’t make a big mess, and your house doesn’t smell of bacon for a whole week. I lay the strips of bacon on a tin foil covered cookie sheet, I put it in a COLD  oven and pre-heat to 400°. Once the oven is pre-heated, I set the timer for 10 minutes and then Voilà! Yummy bacon.

Meanwhile, I’ll sauté the chopped up peppers and canned diced potatoes in a little olive oil. I place those in the bottom of a pie dish. Then I whip up the eggs with a little S&P and a little full-fat coconut milk.

Once the bacon is done, I crumble it up and add it to the pie dish. Then, I pour the eggs over everything and shimmy the dish around until it settles. Again 400° for 20 minutes. That’s why I like using bacon in frittata too, the ovens already preheated and ready to go!

 

Lunch: Italian Chop Salad (Idea from: Italian Chopped Salad)

Since the recipe had pasta, a home-made dressing, and several different cheeses in it, I had to tweak the salad to fit me. I like to look at recipes more for ideas than to actually follow it. Remember that most recipes can be modified to suit your needs and if your unsure as to how to change it, use google! Look at a few websites to see if they all recommend something similar. Usually, they do. Be careful, however, as this does NOT apply to baking, which is why I do not bake! Baking requires you to follow each and every step to the T!

I like to keep my food separate until I’m ready to eat it, so I placed in one container with two separate compartments: chopped artichokes, marinated mushrooms, black olives, chickpeas, and on the other side, I place the chopped pepperoni and salami.  Once I’m ready to eat, I put everything together and use a little balsamic and olive oil as dressing.

Lunch: Lox over Salad

I also made four salads for the week. I can grab them in a pinch for lunch or dinner. I can always find a protein source to buy and add, like hard-boiled eggs or Lox. Lox is super yummy and goes great over a salad. Most people think: Bagel, Lox, and cream cheese. I like to slice mine and throw it over a salad with a little balsamic and olive oil. It’s nice to have something already prepared to grab, so I cut up the left over Lox and leave it in the fridge just incase! It is a little pricey, but sometimes Whole Foods will have it on sale, so I usually buy it then as a little indulgence.

Dinner: Recipe: Pan Roasted Lemon Chicken

This was a pretty easy dish to make and it was absolutely DELICIOUS! I’ve never really made chicken thighs before because for some reason I had it in my head that I wasn’t a dark meat fan…but boy was I wrong. They were so juicy, tender, and flavorful. I don’t add that much lemon juice because the hubby isn’t a big fan. So I used a fresh lemon and just squeezed as much out of it as I could. I used a little lemon zest (Lemon Zest is a taking a cheese grater and grating some of the rind of the lemon! They make it sound so much more complicated), and a little lemon pepper spice that I had from a gourmet spice company. I used my dutch oven too! A dutch oven is a pan or pot that can be cooked stove top and in the oven. You usually want to use it when you first need to sauté and then place in the oven or if you are slow cooking meats. They are usually pretty heavy as they are made of cast iron or enamel.

The hubby and I like different sides so I had mashed cinnamon sweet potatoes and roasted asparagus and he had stuffing and carrots. Our plates were clean when we were done eating!!

 

Keep an eye out this week for: Some Fall Decorations and Fall fashion posts!!!

Next weeks Sunday Prep Day, I’ll post: Tuna Cakes, Skillet Steak, Prosciutto Wrapped Peaches with fresh basil, and Some Yummy Chicken Wings!!!

2 thoughts on “Sunday Food Day

Leave a Reply

