Whole 30 Menu Prep and how to do it

We all know from previous posts how much I love making menu’s. I almost wish sometimes I owned a restaurant so I could make up amazing menu’s for everyone!! Here are some tips for making your menu’s and especially if you are doing a Whole 30. This is a good way to budget your spending and getting the most out of you groceries!

What should each meal have?

Each meal should contain certain credential. These are important so that you have a well-rounded meal and more importantly stay full in-between meals. The importance is in this order!

  1. Protein Source
  2. Veggies
  3. Fat
  4. Fruit

Drafting your menu Start with breakfast

When I draft my menu, I start with breakfast. I go through the whole month and fill in every breakfast. Breakfast is a meal that I love, but if I eat the same thing over and over, I get sick of it pretty quick. I make sure to rotate all of my options and sometimes add in new ones. Any time you add a new recipe into your menu, it gives you something to get excited about! I keep my breakfasts well-rounded with the above credentials. Here are some different breakfast options:

  • Zucchini and Sweet Potato Latkes with Grapefruit (mixes with Egg for protein and cooked in oil for fat)
  • Soft Boiled Eggs, Tomatoes, and Avocado with salt and pepper
  • Butternut Squash Porridge (I know how it sounds, but don’t believe it)
  • Egg and Prosciutto Roll-up with asparagus
  • Scotch Eggs with tomato and cucumber salad
  • Egg and veggie scramble with homemade sausage patties

Lunch and Dinner

The most important strategy I use for lunches and dinners is to share veggies in each meal. Produce tends to go bad quickly or not get used at all. When I make my menu, I make sure to choose 2-3 veggies for that week and split it up between all the meals. I may make the butternut squash porridge and have roasted squash with dinner a different night. Or I may make roasted beets with dinner and used the leftovers to toss with a salad.

If I make something that I know will have leftovers or I can make more of, I make sure to note that I will take that for lunch the next day.

I’ll share some of these recipes on my January Journey and let you know how I like everything and any tips or tricks I can share.

So here’s my January 5-11th menu: January 5th-11th Menu (downloadable menu for you!)

 

jan 5th-11th menu

Leave a Reply

